Dracula by Bram Stoker

Following the journey of Jonathan Harker, a solicitor from London, who embarks on a visit to Castle Dracula to finalise the purchase of a property in London.  During his stay, Harker encounters many strange and unexplainable events and fights for his very existence to escape.

Lucy Westenra and Mina Murray have been best friends for a long time. Mina is engaged to Jonathan Harker, whilst Lucy receives three engagement proposals from three friends, Dr. John Seward, Quincey Morris and Arthur Holmwood, but it is only Arthur who Lucy loves. 

Strange occurrences happen when the two girls are holidaying in Whitby and Lucy seems to descend into a trance and sleepwalk.  Upon returning to London she seems quite well until the sleepwalking begins again.  Dr. Seward enlists the help of his former tutor, Professor Van Helsing.

This story is written from the diary entries and journal notes of Mina Murray, Jonathan Harker, Dr. John Seward and Lucy Westenra.  Put together in near chronological order they explain the peculiar behave and eventual discovery of Count Dracula and Vampires.

 

REVIEW

Gripping from beginning to end.

I have long since had a fascination with vampires. I’m not ashamed to say that Buffy, The Vampire Slayer was on of my favourite shows.  I have watched many films  around the concept of vampires – Interview with a vampire, Blade,From Dusk til Dawn,Van Helsing, Dracula, and for my sins, Twilight (I know that I shouldn’t judge a book by its film but do not get me started on that one). I am very old school in my thinking of the undead – stake through the heart, sunlight, garlic, no reflection or shadow, turning to bats, controlling the will of the weak. This story encompasses it all. The way it is written brings a certain excitement to an already exciting story.  The thoughts and views of the key characters are produced within their writings and this brings forth a connection to each that would probably not exist if the story was written in a contemporary manner.

Having never read this book before I can honestly say that I wish I had read it years ago, but then I may not have appreciated it as much then as I do now. Definitely a classic within its own right and, in my opinion, a must-read.

Author: mandy

I love to Read! Mostly romance (of all types) but I also enjoy murder mysteries, paranormal fantasy, sci-fi, comedy, pretty much anything.

Leave a Reply

